Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Musical Chairs 2: Musical Scandals

SY is my good friend.
It's a bit hard though, because she is a musical prodigy.
I am your run-of-the-mill person who sucks at playing music. And yet I stuck in the orchestra and band for this long... because next year I get to go to an amusement park in a competition for these two musical groups.
Unless, like many others in that grade, I get disqualified because I suck too bad at the music and I might embarrass them. Which, at any rate, has a good chance of happening since I haven't practiced since like the sixth grade.
Not even kidding.
But anyway... this year, there were a LOT of competition rejects. So the band had a whole bunch of additions for people in my grade to see if anyone was good enough to make the cut. And get to go to the amusement park.
I was surprised at how many people signed up to try out. They all made it. When a whole bunch of kids in a grade younger than yours can beat you out of a competition, it says something about your playing. Such as: YOU SUCK.
Ah, yes. I am sooo nice.
Anyway, the night of the concert, the conductor stopped the band in the year ahead of us and said to the audience, "And now, we will have some band members from the grade younger join for a piece called, 'Le Cirque du Solais.'" It was something weird and Frenchy circusy like that. Anyway, they got up and I said hopefully quietly enough that just my friends could hear: "Look at those losers! They think being good at stuff makes you cool."
And afterwards, he introduced the rest of us so we could come up and play. He may as well have said, "Introducing the losers who weren't good enough for the rest of us."
Thank you, maestro, for that marvelous introduction.
Anyway, the time came for the orchestra (yes, I am also in the orchestra) to test for the seating chart. I was currently fourth chair cello and SY was currently third chair first violin. She's like also in a separate orchestra outside of school and practices like an hour every night. So she should probably be first chair.
Apparently, a lot of people think the seating arrangement is screwed up.
Personally, I think we should all just accept that we suck. I mean, I've accepted the fact that I am behind someone who is deaf. Nothing against people who are deaf, but he can't hear what he's playing and he's still better than me. :D Oh well!
Oh and ballet is musical, isn't it? Semi? At least? Anyway, I take ballet classes on Tuesdays and I've come to dread them. I mean, you know that stereotype that ballet teachers are all evil Russians? It's not a stereotype. They are seriously all Russian. And evil.
And the bottom of your feet get really gross. Like, I'm not even joking.
AC does ballet and she is REALLY GOOD. She came in to school with her point shoes once.
Yep, this is the gossipiest gossip EVER.

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Hi...is this sofia? and were you talking about SY, as in JB's neighbor...no, I'm not a stalker, i know you, so guess who i am! p.s. if this is who i think it is, can u help me with my blog? i am lost...

Anonymous said...

i'll give you a hint...my initials are yd...do you even check this blog